A Rich History

The original Vestal Methodist Church stood on the corner of Kimble Road. Year unknown.

 A much larger building was built in 1845 that served our needs until Vestal's dramatic population explosion in the 1950's. 

"A CHURCH GROWS IN VESTAL - Workman make headway in the construction of an new south wing of Vestal Methodist Church Fellowship Hall in an $85,000 construction project which will include the erection of a new church sanctuary parallel to the hall."

Vestal Methodist Church started as a log cabin in 1831which was rapidly outgrown.

"NEW VESTAL FIRE STATION SITE? This is the old Vestal Methodist Church property on the west side of Main Street, looking south, which could wind up as the site for the new Fire Company 1 station... At left is the new Vestal Methodist Church."

Our present church building began with the Sunday school and administrative wings with the sanctuary being added alter in 1962. In 1994, an addition included more classrooms as well as an elevator, making the church accessible to those with disabilites to all levels of the building.


Click here for a more in depth history.

Click here for a list of clergy.

Contact Us

Vestal UMC

328 Main Street

Vestal, NY 13850


Phone: (607) 785-3367

Fax: (607) 264-2025


Email Us

Office Hours

The church office is temporarily closed due to the COVID-19 virus.


Sunday mornings at 10:00 a.m. on Facebook, or view past worship by clicking on the Worship Now tab.

Find Us

Print Print | Sitemap
© Vestal United Methodist Church